Avidyne IFD versus Garmin GTN

Scott ShererScott Sherer COO Forum Moderator
A few years ago I sold my Garmin GNS-530 that I had for a dozen years and installed a new GPS. I wanted a Garmin 750 but the purchase and install price were well north of $20k. Avidyne had a deal on a slide-in replacement and so I purchased an IFD-540 and slid it into the GNS-530 tray. It didn't require any wiring or install expense. I paid $11k for that GPS and I got $9k for the GNS-530 that I sold. I figured $3k net was outstanding. So I've been flying the IFD-540 for the last three years and I really like it. Last week I sold that airplane (after 14 years) and purchase a new plane that has a Garmin GTN-650 in it. I prefer an Avidyne IFD-540 over the Garmin GTN-650 but I've only flown with the 650 once. I think I'll wait a month and make friends with the 650 before coming to any decision about which is better. My question is: Which are you flying and do you have a favorite?

Scott Sherer
Wright Brothers Master Pilot, FAA Commercial Pilot
Aviation Director, Cessna Owners Organization Forum Moderator and Cessna Owners Author.

Need help? Let me know!

Comments

• Hi Scott. What did you end up doing? I am close to pulling the trigger on the 650. Thanks
  • Scott ShererScott Sherer COO Forum Moderator