Cessna 172F LED Interior lighting

I have a 1965 172F and am thinking of upgrading my interior lighting to LED. Specifically, I'm looking at upgrading the overhead dome/instrument panel lighting to LED and the map light on the front post on the pilot's side. For the map light, I'm looking at the Oplite Maplight 6 dual color LED map light as a replacement [www.oplite.com]. For the overhead lighting, I'm looking at a simple bulb replacement with an LED equivalent, whichever is more sensible. Does anyone have any experience in this area with their aircraft. Thoughts/suggestions?

Comments

• Scott ShererScott Sherer COO Forum Moderator

I've been using LED lighting in my various airplanes for about 15 years. I didn't know about Oplite (thanks for the info) and I'm looking at them now. They have a variety of very high quality products! Mostly over the years I've gone to Aircraft Spruce (https://www.aircraftspruce.com/categories/aircraft_parts/ap/menus/el/interiolighting.html) successfully for lighting products. I will be curious to see what you wind up getting. Keep us informed of what you do and take a few pics for our forum while you're at it. Good luck!

Scott Sherer
    Wright Brothers Master Pilot, FAA Commercial Pilot
    Aviation Director, Cessna Owners Organization Forum Moderator and Cessna Owners Author.

Need help? Let me know!

• The Oplite needed is the dual color white/red in 12 volt. Available from Wicks Aircraft Supply catalog # OP6-W/R 12. Their price is $95.15

Thanks so much!

Scott Sherer
    Aviation Director, Cessna Owners Organization Forum Moderator and Cessna Owners Author.

Need help? Let me know!

• Ok, thanks for the updates! I'll let you know what I come up with for a solution.

• Hello All,