Garmin G1000 ChartView and Jeppesen Charts

Getting the runaround... I have a 2009 Cessna T-182T with a G1000. I have been trying to find out how to "unlock" the G1000 ChartView feature that will allow Jepp charts to display on the MFD (I have a Jepp subscription). I've called both Cessna and Jeppesen and both say to call the other... I know I need to purchase a software "key" from Cessna to "unlock" the ChartView feature (probably like I did to unlock the Synthetic Vision feature). However, I am unable to find anyplace or anyone to sell me a key. Reading between the lines I get the feeling I need to contact a Garmin dealer to assist. Again, another brick wall... I have called numerous "Garmin Dealers" in the Southern California area and nobody seems to know what I'm asking for let alone talking about. So, that's my tale. Bottom line: what do I need to do to view Jeppesen charts on my G1000 MFD?

Comments

• Scott ShererScott Sherer COO Forum Moderator
    Hi, have you contacted Garmin directly?

Scott Sherer
    Wright Brothers Master Pilot, FAA Commercial Pilot
    Aviation Director, Cessna Owners Organization Forum Moderator and Cessna Owners Author.

Need help? Let me know!

• Yes, they were the first place I called months ago. Amazingly, neither their tech or sales departments could give me a solid answer due to the fact the installation in my plane is an OEM product. All conversations with Garmin ended with a recommendation to call both Cessna and Jepp.
    Hi and thanks for the answer. Let me make a few calls this week and see if I can get this resolved for you. Please stand by.

Scott Sherer
    Aviation Director, Cessna Owners Organization Forum Moderator and Cessna Owners Author.

Need help? Let me know!

Hi John, I have contacted both Garmin, Jeppesen and Cessna this morning. Let's see what happens.

Scott Sherer

Need help? Let me know!

Hi, here's the first response:

Good afternoon Scott,