Left seat vs. Right seat

I just read the article "Musical Chairs" by Scott "Sky" Smith in the March magazine issue, and it left me with a few questions.

I have an expired CFI certificate and have thoughts of eventually getting it reinstated. So, I frequently fly solo from the right seat of my 172 and practice private and commercial pilot maneuvers. By doing that, am I risking loss of insurance coverage if anything were to happen resulting in an insurance claim?

To take this a step further, if I were to take my grandson, who is a student pilot, along just for the purpose of demonstrating these maneuvers; if anything were to happen, would the insurance company assume that he is the one flying, and could that invalidate my coverage?

Comments

• JgoaviationJgoaviation Flight Captain

I am no insurance expert but I’ll give the answer a go. Flying from the left or right seat should not matter legally. I don’t know of a regulation that says the PIC must fly from an assigned seat in a 172. As far as flying with your grandson is concerned, I view it as you flying with just another individual in the left seat. You aren’t legally giving instruction to him and he just happens to be a student pilot. Just make sure you meet currency requirements for carrying passengers. The not helpful answer would be to ask your insurance company. 😉

• Thanks Jgo,

I have asked my insurance company about this. They are very good at giving vague answers and tend to quote FAA regs. which isn't helpful.

The thing that concerns me is that the insurance company might make assumptions on who was flying the plane based on who was sitting in which seat.

This from Scott's article:

"At the Time of a Claim: