East Coast to Oshkosh

Looking for advice on getting to the Cessnas 2 Oshkosh this summer coming from Nova Scotia Canada. It is my first time attending Airventure and my first mass arrival.

I am looking at a few routes, one is entering the US at KGBR in Maine and flying south of lake Michigan up to the meet point KUNU I figure on a two day VFR flight with a stop for the evening somewhere along the way. Any tips on locations and accommodations close to or on an airfield somewhere in PA or OH? I will have camping equipment so info for airfield camping would be great

I am also looking at two routes in Canada, one that is a northern route planned to cross at Sault St. Marie and down the western shore to KUNU. Another is southern Ontario to cross at Detroit and fly around the lake to KUNU Any tips on entry airports and the like would be appreciated. This keeps me in Canada for longer and the north route is over some remote Ontario wilderness so It is not my first choice of routes.

I am attending the formation clinic for canadian pilots and I hope to get some AOE info from them as well. I have been on the AOPA site listing airports but it is information overload for me. I am not used to all the selection of landing areas!

any local knowledge and suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Bruce

Comments

• Scott ShererScott Sherer COO Forum Moderator

Weather permitting, I think that the north route would be the easiest and most direct.

Scott Sherer
    Wright Brothers Master Pilot, FAA Commercial Pilot
    Aviation Director, Cessna Owners Organization Forum Moderator and Cessna Owners Author.

Need help? Let me know!

• I’ve done the Sault Ste. Marie crossing going from Ottawa to Winnipeg, and it was a nice route that kept me out of most complicated airspace. However, gas prices in Canada are much higher than in the U.S., so you would probably save money going the southern route.