Feedback/Tips on "quick" Instrument rating finish up courses

I'm a private pilot with around 330 hours and a lot of cross country. I've got about 25 hours towards the instrument rating and have passed the knowledge test. I used Kings School for ground school. I own a business and have had a lot of starts and stops with instrument. I am at another stop at the moment. I was thinking to use PIC or someone like them to finish it up. Just take the week off work and knock it out. I understand the concepts, but need to get better at the scan and coordinating both needles on the approach. I have a 182 with two nav/coms and a DME. I have a Garmin aera 660 for information only but otherwise no GPS or autopilot. Has anyone else here used a company like that and what are your impressions of it?

Comments

• Scott ShererScott Sherer COO Forum Moderator

The instrument rating is probably the most difficult and most personally rewarding thing I've ever done. Stay with it, it's worth the effort. And when you get done, we will all applaud your accomplishment.

Scott Sherer
    Wright Brothers Master Pilot, FAA Commercial Pilot
    Aviation Director, Cessna Owners Organization Forum Moderator and Cessna Owners Author.

Need help? Let me know!

• Not a lot of comments here. I'm going to practice with safety pilots as much as I can for a bit.

• Good morning. Your context appears complex—Your 330 hours have barely taken you through a transitional state in flying where your judgement and instincts are being fashioned. You may have had a little stress, uncertainty, even an emergency. These events help shape our consciousness and thought process about flying. Without that experience, you have no idea what anxiety can come from “things gone awry.”